Top 5 Funky Toy Stores

Whether you are shopping for toys for your little sibling or for yourself, New York City is chock-full of toy stores.  These listed shops aren’t your infamous or typical toy stores like Toys”R”Us or FAO Schwarz.  Don’t get me wrong, these places do bring me happiness, but they don’t have that quirky element that makes them stand out.

I love shopping for clothes the way I love pursuing around toy boutiques.  I’m sure we can all collectively agree that it brings out the kid in us.  I know for myself whenever I walked into each of these stores, I either channel my inner five-year-old or I reminisce on the special memories I had with those trinkets.  If the big city seems too serious for you or you feel like you need to take a brief break from reality, then this is the list for you.

1. KidRobot

126 Prince Street, New York, NY 10012 – between Greene St & Wooster St in SoHo

126 Prince Street, New York, NY 10012

Photo taken by Esther K.

After walking into this store, I couldn’t help but feel like a kid in a candy shop.  The unique vinyl and plush toys surely lured me in and overwhelmed me with their bright colors.  It is eye candy for sure.  Some of these items are pricey and some of them are reasonable, but there is something in here for everyone.

2. Forbidden Planet

832 Broadway, New York, NY 10003 – between 13th St & 12th St in Greenwich Village, Union Square, East Village

Photo taken by Emma G.

Photo taken by Emma G.

Confession:  I’m a total fangirl.  I love comics, anime manga collectibles, graphic t-shirts, and action figures.  This store is a fangirl and fanboy heaven.  I spent about 2 or 3 hours in here, getting lost in the merchandise and talking for hours with the quirky, knowledgable staff.  The products and the overall experience were beyond enjoyable.

3. Toy Tokyo

91 2nd Avenue, New York, NY 10003 – between 6th St & 5th St in East Village

Toy Tokyo

Photo taken by J-collabo.org

This store is personally one of my favorites.  When I walk in here, I feel like I am in a museum:  everything is clustered together by collection and displayed in glass cases.  What makes these toys so special is that they are hard to find anywhere else nowadays.  The rare novelties range from Japanese figurines to GI Joe’s to classic Voltron figures.  Toy Tokyoconnects you to your childhood and to some of your favorite comics.  I felt like I needed to buy everything when I was there!

4. My Plastic Heart

210 Forsyth Street, New York, NY 10002 – between Houston St & Stanton St in Lower East Side

Photo taken by Vincent Y.

Photo taken by Vincent Y.

This may be a small store, but it has so much to offer.  It’s an art gallery AND a toy store!  When I first went here, I remember there was an artist working on the white wall, setting his pieces up to be displayed and soon purchased.  There was so much to look at that between the art covering the walls and the impressive art toys.  This store will not hurt your wallet, and it is worth the visit!

5. oo35mm

81 Mott Street, New York, NY 10013 – between Canal St & Bayard St in Chinatown

Photo taken by Kelly N.

Photo taken by Kelly N.

0035mm isn’t your average toy store.  Not only does it carry toys, but it carries skin care products and jewelry.  I love going in here to check out the neat toys as well as the beauty accessories.  This gem carries toys and skincare products that are not available in every shop. Every time I walk in, they have a great selection of products and a staff that is eager to help.

Leave a Reply

